Carolyn Parkinson is 2016 Hannah T. Croasdale Award recipient

Carolyn Parkinson, who completed her PhD with Thalia Wheatley this past year, has been selected as this year's recipient of the Hannah T. Croasdale Award.  This award is made to a graduating PhD student at Dartmouth who “best exemplifies the qualities of a scholar, possessing intellectual curiosity, a dedicated commitment to the pursuit of new knowledge, a strong interest in teaching, and a sense of social responsibility to the academic community.” 
Dr. Hannah T. Croasdale studied and taught for more than 40 years in what is now the Department of Biological Sciences at Dartmouth. She began at Dartmouth in 1935, worked her way up through the ranks, and retired at the rank of full Professor in 1971. She pioneered the role of women faculty at Dartmouth by being the first woman to move through the ranks to the level of full Professor. Even after retirement, she continued to teach phycology as Professor Emerita for six years. Her distinguished career has been recognized by numerous honors including a summer graduate student fellowship named in her honor by the Phycological Society of America. Professor Croasdale attended the University of Pennsylvania, graduating with a B.S. in 1928, an M.S. in 1931, and a Ph.D. in 1935.
Dr. Parkinson has now joined the faculty at UCLA as an Assistant Professor Psychology.

Previous PBS recipients of the Croasdale Award include: Robert Chavez (2015), Michael Hopkins (2013), Dylan Wagner (2011), Leah Somerville (2008), Gagandeep Wig (2006), Jennifer Tickle (2002), Katie Vohs (2000), and Mikki Hebl (1997)